Dear Best Friend

It sucks that you’re on the other side of the world. It also sucks that the massive time difference means that you’re asleep when I’m wide awake. And to top it all off, it sucks that we can’t both be in the single ladies club anymore (ugh I hate you). I hate you so much that I decided to write an entire post about you. Just kidding about the hate part. I’m honestly the luckiest to be able to call you my friend – despite our more than rocky start…

In the five years I’ve known you, I’ve liked you for four. I didn’t open myself up to you that first day you came to school and I regret that. Because that just means that I’ve had one year of potential memories with you taken away. But this post isn’t about could haves and should haves. It’s about what we have now. I don’t remember how we even became friends – do you? I’m just so grateful that we somehow got to talking all of those years ago, at some point during year 10. And can we just take a second to appreciate the fact that you were still friendly as f and actually talked to me despite the year before? Best friend award. Seriously.

img_3454
On the metro in Bangkok

You may not realise the impact you’ve had on my life, so let me just tell you that you’ve had a massive impact on my life! I’ve never had that one person that I can talk to if I’m going through anything, whether I’m having a good day or a bad day. Everything is so easy and uncomplicated with you. We may not talk every single day – and when I’m being my procrastinating self, weeks. Just know that my horribly bad habits and embarrassingly late responses to your texts don’t mean that I’ve forgotten about you. If anything exciting or shitty happens, you’re the first to know. You’re probably the only person I really care about enough to tell. Though I’ve made many friends across my life, I haven’t managed to keep in touch with most (especially with you know who). But with you, it isn’t forced; like I said before, it’s easy.

I love that we can have those deep conversations when needed, but then switch a flip and have the best time like nothing happened. There’s always something to laugh about when we’re together. I may be biased, but our laugh attacks are the best. Oh, and I am so happy (and relieved) that you now know about this blog. I kept this part of my life a secret because I was scared what people would think – I should have known better that you wouldn’t make a big deal out of it. Now, we can laugh about the stories I write – whether they’re completely fictional or .. somewhat real .. (his name begins with the letter J, DON’T YOU DARE SAY IT).

I don’t know where all of this is coming from or why I felt the need to write this post, but I guess there’s no going back. I mean I could delete it.. I was just being dramatic. Okay now your turn, go! Lol jokes. Anyways, I have to go pick up the little brother from school now so I’ll end this-whatever this is-here. I luh you papi. You’re much appreciated. You’re my best fren – because you don’t walk in front of me, or behind me, but beside me. Thank the Lord for 2009 facebook statuses. Never forget.

Love,
Christine

P.S. wakey wakey and follow my blog yeah?


“You and I are a team. Nothing is more important than our friendship.”
Mike from Monsters, Inc
[Featured image taken from Pinterest]
Leave a Reply

