The Garden Next Door

Traveling back to Perth is something that my family do often, but we only stay for around a week at a time. So it is something that we always look forward to. My littlest brother and I love walking around the lake we have in the front of our house. Almost every time we’d step outside and get ready for our walk, our next door neighbour would be out front with the cutest little puppy, fixing up his garden, waving and saying hello. I was inspired by this little scenario and decided to write a little something about it…

img_1818
Perth, Australia

At the same time of every day,
I would take a walk around the lake.
Just as the sun would set,
I’d make my way back home.
And when I did, I always saw the same thing.
I would see a man and his dog in the garden next door.
It didn’t matter if it rained or hailed,
thundered or stormed.
He was always there.
Shovel in hand, sweat off his brow, and his dog by his side.
There was a profound sense of loyalty –
the dog to his owner, and the man to his home.


“A dog is the only thing on Earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
Josh Billings
[In response to the Daily Prompt: profound]
[Featured image taken from Pinterest]
