Wonderful Indonesia

If you don’t already know, I am half Indonesian and I have been living in Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, for most of my twenty years on this earth. By reading that you’d think I know everything there is to know about Indonesia. But in all honesty, I don’t. I don’t even speak Bahasa Indonesia fluently – though I know enough of the language to get by. It does make me sad knowing that I will soon be leaving the country without having learnt as much about the local culture as I would have liked. Lesson most definitely learnt.

I live in a very modernised and civilised part of the city, so I don’t often get to witness and experience Jakarta at its realest. Today, like every other Thursday, I waited in my car whilst waiting for my little brother to finish his tuition that took place in a building nearby. We always parked in the same place – which was a rather rural and under-constructed part of town; Jakarta at its realest.

Today, unlike every other Thursday, I took a moment and looked outside of my car window. And I don’t mean a simple glance before immediately glancing back at my phone, which was something I always did. I mean, I watched everything that was going on during the hour. There were many kids, most of whom, I assume, were just coming back from school. Some were just walking around in their pyjamas without a care in the world. Others were on their bikes, chatting and giggling about. At one point, there were these two girls wandering around, singing songs and admiring what to us would be classified as boring, dull and uninteresting leaves, but to them was something so precious.

I guess what I’m trying to get across with this post is that we should be grateful for what we have. These children don’t have much but they manage to find something to be happy about so easily. They aren’t complaining, so why should we be?

img_5212
Summarecon, Jakarta

“Home is where the heart is.”
Pliny the Elder
[In response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: local]
[Featured image taken from Pinterest]
8 thoughts on “Wonderful Indonesia

    1. Aw thank you so much, you kind kind soul. I feel like if you were to start a blog, your posts would be just as beautiful and candid. Have a blessed day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

