The Woman I Admire

She laughed.
She loved.
She lived.

Without a care in the world, she breathed adventure
and longed for new experiences.

She wasn’t afraid; she had no reason to be.
We weren’t afraid either – we had her.

She did
e v e r y t h i n g
right.

But the worst things always happen to the best people.
That’s how it’s supposed to be, right?
That’s how it always is.
And it happened to her without a moment’s notice:
The worst thing.
Out of the blue.
Even though she did
e v e r y t h i n g
right.

She could have become afraid.
She could have given up.
She could have stopped laughing,
like I would have done instantly if I was put in her place.

But that’s the thing.. She isn’t me.
Only for a second was she afraid and without
further thought or hesitation, she went
right back to laughing,
loving and
living.

She wanted to be strong for us and us, for her
though we didn’t know how.
She stood strong for all of us;
She still stands strong for all of us and we love her for doing so.

Who is she, you may ask?

She is the woman I admire…

My beautifully strong and brave mother.


“A good mother is irreplaceable.”
Adriana Frigiani
[In response to the Daily Prompt: admire]
13 thoughts on “The Woman I Admire

  1. This is mega sweet and all moms- well, all good moms- should hear this from their kids. Thank you for putting it into words! If/when you show it to her, I hope she loves it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh thank you for the really nice comment! Was going to take a look at your blog, but it’s not there 😦

      Like

  2. Hey nice post I will definitely follow you plz come and check out my new blog too ,it only has a introduction post and my first proper untitled teens can writ too will be published in a couple of hours. I would LOVE some feedback
    Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a beautiful tribute to your mother. Speaking as one, myself, it means a lot to a mom to hear these things from her children. We so often lack reference points as we pour ourselves into our children. Knowing that they value what we have done is refreshing and revitalizing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

